Photos from my Consecration

It’s been two and a half months since my Consecration on the Feast of the Immaculate Heart, and I couldn’t be more joyful! I haven’t posted much since June because (a) I am still pondering the many blessings and graces our Lord has been pouring into my life since then, and (b) I am still adjusting to my new job as an English teacher at a local Catholic classical school. Teaching is, by far, the most exhausting work I’ve ever done, but I’ve never felt so fully alive! What a gift it is to have found a job I truly love – even if my new routine will take some getting used to. This is my first year teaching, and I am teaching five different grades, so things will probably be pretty hectic for a while! (Perhaps for quite a while.)

For all those who responded to the first photo I posted back in July, asking to see more – here are some of my favorite pictures from the day I became a Bride of Christ. Please continue to pray that God would grant me the grace to live out my vocation fervently and faithfully, according to His holy will!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“As a bridegroom rejoices over his bride, so shall your God rejoice over you.”

Isaiah 62:5  (the verse I had engraved on the inside of my wedding ring)

6 Comments

Filed under About the Author, Photos

6 responses to “Photos from my Consecration

  1. Your photos tell the story of a marvelous day! Do you wear a habit as you go about your everyday activities? And did you receive another name, or is Charity your original name?

    • Deborah, unlike hermits and religious bros./sisters, consecrated virgins do not wear a habit. A habit identifies the wearer as a member of a particular religious order and is a sign of that person’s separation from the world, and since consecrated virgins are not part of an order and live “in the world” (i.e., outside of the convent), we don’t wear one. (Hermits and hermitesses can obtain permission from the local ordinary to wear a habit of their own design, since their solitude and separation from the world is an intrinsic part of their vocation.) I did not receive a new name, either, since the new name given in religious life is also a sign of “death” to one’s former life in the world and the beginning of a new life away from the world. Consecrated virgins keep their given names because they continue to live in the world.

  2. piercedhands

    Beautiful! Thank you for sharing the pictures. And I will pray for you especially as you begin teaching. God bless 🙂

  3. Great pictures! Congratulations to you!

    Know of my continued prayers for you!

    John

  4. Connie Wells

    Thank you, thank you, and thank you again for sharing these pictures from your total gift of self to God. This, too, is somehow what I desire even though I cannot be a consecrated virgin. God knows my heart and I ask that He fulfill His desire in me. God bless you is my prayer.

  5. Thank you so much and praise be to God! This was absolutely beautiful. Thank you for your witness of our faith and your surrender to our Lord. I will keep you in my prayers for continued strength as you carry out your vocation. May our Lady be ever near you.

    In Christ 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

