Urgent Prayer Requests

March is always a crazy, crazy time for me. I know that this next week will be so busy, I’ll hardly be able to think straight – so I wanted to be sure I passed on these important petitions to all of you while they were still fresh in my mind and heavy on my heart. Please join me in praying for the following intentions:

For reader L. and her son, Brandon (urgent intention).

For first-time parents and fellow missionary “alumni” Andrew and Cristina, and their daughter in utero, Maria Isabella (urgent intention). I met Andrew and Cristina during my mission year; since returning to the States, they’ve gotten married and started a beautiful little family. About a month ago, their lives changed forever when Baby Bella was diagnosed with spina bifida. Cristina and Bella are set to undergo a promising pre-natal surgery early next Wednesday morning (March 14) and are asking for prayers for their preparation, surgery and recovery, as well as prayers that their family can find affordable temporary housing near the hospital. You can read more about this precious young family and the beautiful example they are to me and so many others on their blog, Café con Leche.

For reader G.G., whose family is struggling financially (urgent intention). She will be finishing an important course next week (on March 15) and asks for prayers for her studies, prayers that she could obtain her nursing registration this month and find employment as a nurse, and prayers that she and her husband could be reunited with their young daughter.

For reader Rodrigo, who recently found out that he has been admitted to enter the Order of Preachers (Dominican Friars) this fall! (What joyful news!)

For my new blog-friend Ryan and the apostolate he’s begun that will minister to those who suffer with HIV/AIDS. Ryan wrote to me recently to offer some encouragement and to ask for my prayers – and when I visited his blog in the hope of “getting to know him” a little better, I was totally floored. I was so humbled by his example and very deeply moved by so many of his posts, especially this one. I continue to be amazed that the Lord, in His Providence, has begun to bring people who are truly learning how to suffer fruitfully into my life precisely at a time when I’ve been praying to learn how to do just that. He is so faithful! You can learn more about Ryan’s apostolate and read his reflections on redemptive suffering on his blog, Living the Message of Mercy.

For a friend who is passionately in love with Our Lord but struggling to come to grips with her mental illness.

For the repose of the soul of Deacon Mike, who watched me grow up (over the course of 15 years or so) at my home parish and who passed away last week after a long illness, and for his family.

For a retreat I will be staffing next weekend (March 16-18) for 100 high school teens from my diocese. Please join me in praying that the hearts of these young men and women would be prepared and disposed to receive the Truth of the Gospel, as well as the many graces of healing and conversion that God desires to offer them during this retreat. Pray with me that they could fall in love, finally and definitively, with Christ and His Church.

For a confidential special intention, which I hope to be able to share more about next week.

Thank you all for your prayers and sacrifices and your daily “yes” to Jesus. You inspire me every day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Other Blogs, Prayer Requests

I'd love to hear what you think!

