On the Calendar: St. Lucy

Francesco del Cossa, Santa Lucia (detail), c. 1473-74

Francesco del Cossa, Santa Lucia (detail), c. 1473-74 (via Wikimedia Commons)

Prayer to St. Lucy of Syracuse

Saint Lucy, your beautiful name signifies light. By the light of faith which God bestowed upon you, increase and preserve this light in my soul so that I may avoid evil, be zealous in the performance of good works, and abhor nothing so much as the blindness and the darkness of evil and of sin.

By your intercession with God, obtain for me perfect vision for my bodily eyes and the grace to use them for God’s greater honor and glory and the salvation of all men.

Saint Lucy, virgin and martyr, hear my prayers and obtain my petitions. Amen.

For last year’s post on St. Lucy, click here.

2 Comments

Filed under On the Calendar

2 responses to “On the Calendar: St. Lucy

  1. Hi! I wanted to say that I won’t be on my computer to check my emails so I’m going to cancel my subscription. (If I’m not able to find a way to cancel it I’ll just block this address from coming into my inbox.) It was a pleasure knowing you reading your blog and I pray for every good thing for you in your life! God bless you!!! Be strong and stay close to Jesus at all times! 🙂
    Kim

    • Hi, Kim! I will look to see if there is a way to remove you from the subscription list. Sorry to see you go – and grateful for all of your sweet comments and encouragement. I will continue to remember you in my prayers! God bless you, Mary keep you!

I'd love to hear what you think!

