Away on Pilgrimage!

Early tomorrow morning I will begin my pilgrimage to the Jornada Mundial de la Juventud (World Youth Day) in Madrid, Spain!

For those of you who may not be too familiar with the history of World Youth Day, this neat video explains a bit about the origins of this unique event:

The group I am traveling with is being organized by a team of Catholic lay missionaries who took me on my first mission trip to Mexico when I was 17. We’ll be spending 15 whirlwind days as pilgrims in four European cities: London, Córdoba, Rome and, of course, Madrid.

We are packing light (only 1 backpack per person) and planning to “rough it” like true missionary pilgrims – and I would ask that you please pray with me that those sacrifices could help to prepare our hearts and to dispose us to really hear the message of the Holy Father when we “meet” him in Madrid. What a blessing! What a gift! We truly are so, so fortunate to have a pope who loves us so much.

Please also pray especially for the younger pilgrims in our group, that this would be a transformative experience for them, that it would be first and foremost a spiritual experience that would challenge them to embrace a deeper spirituality and a more authentic life of prayer.

I doubt we’ll have much Internet access while we’re traveling, so I’m not planning on posting much, if at all, while I’m gone. Look for plenty of posts (and pictures) when I return!

Please pray for me, as I pray for all of you –

Charity

1 Comment

Filed under Prayer Requests

One response to “Away on Pilgrimage!

  1. Dear Charity, I have prayed for your intentions and I will be praying for you and all every day of the World Youth Day Celebration! God bless you! Thank you for that wonderful video! I almost cried the whole time! I look forward to your posts and pictures when you get back!

I'd love to hear what you think!

