Prayer Request: Luke’s Surgery

"I don't need easy; I just need possible."

This is my little cousin Luke. He’s nine years old, and he has cerebral palsy. My family calls him our “miracle baby” because when he was born at 23 weeks, weighing only 1 pound, 10 ounces, we all prayed for a miracle. When he was finally able to go home from the hospital after four months, we thought that was the miracle we needed – but I’ve since learned that the real miracle is that remarkable smile you see on Luke’s face.

Luke is an incredibly bright, cheerful, outgoing kid. According to his parents, he recently adopted the motto: “I don’t need easy; I just need possible.” Tomorrow (Thursday, May 25) he’s having an important surgery that his parents say could be “life-changing” for him. From what I can tell, the surgery has a high rate of success, but the recovery is almost certainly going to be difficult. Please pray with me that all goes well, and that our little saint-in-the-making would continue to be a shining light for his family and for the world.

* UPDATE: The surgery went well! Luke was able to roll over this afternoon and was already smiling and asking for food. Thank you all for your prayers!

3 Comments

Filed under Prayer Requests

3 responses to “Prayer Request: Luke’s Surgery

  1. Little saint indeed! Look at that real smile on his face! If only i could face suffering like him! I am praying for your little cousin and I am sharing your intentions with my prayer groups! Thank you for sharing so we can pray! Please keep us updated!

  2. Sr Margaret

    What a handsome young man! So glad he is doing well.

  3. May God be praised!!! I’m so happy he’s doing well!!! Thank you for the update!!! 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!

