Vocation Awareness Week 2011

I have not yet decided whether my “post every day” resolution will include Sundays… but seeing as today begins National Vocation Awareness Week, I thought I’d post a few interesting tidbits.

First, this beautiful quote from the always-inspiring JPII:

“It is always Christ who sends. But whom does He send? You, young people, are the ones He looks upon with love. Christ, who says, “Follow me,” wants you to live your lives with a sense of vocation. The search and discovery of God’s will for you is a deep and fascinating endeavor. Every vocation, every path to which Christ calls us, ultimately leads to fulfillment and happiness, because it leads to God, to sharing in God’s own life.”

– Pope John Paul II, Manila, Philippines, January 13, 1996

Second, this prayer for Vocation Awareness Week, from the USCCB’s Secretariat of Clergy, Consecrated Life and Vocations:

God our Father, we thank you for calling men and women to serve in your Son’s Kingdom as priests, deacons, religious, and consecrated persons. Send your Holy Spirit to help us respond generously and courageously to your call. May our community of faith support vocations of sacrificial love in our youth. We ask this through our Lord Jesus Christ, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

Stay tuned for more throughout the week!

2 Comments

Filed under Quotes

2 responses to “Vocation Awareness Week 2011

  1. Kim

    Wow! What inspiring and encouraging quotes! Thank you for sharing! Are you in the process of discerning a vocation? I don’t remember what you’ve said about yourself! Please remind me!

    • Kim, I am in formation to become a consecrated virgin (God willing!) in 2012. My bishop is aware of and supports my plans, but the date is still tentative. I’ll be posting my vocation story later this week! Thank you so much for all of your encouragement and support. It cheers me to know that someone is reading the blog! Stay close in prayer – Charity

I'd love to hear what you think!

