St. Faustina’s Prayer for the Present Moment

Faustina photograph

St. Faustina, pray for us!

When you are discerning your vocation, it is very tempting to become fearful about the future. The saints, however, teach us that it is of utmost importance to remain in the present moment, listening for the voice of God. Only when we learn to live in the present will we know what He is asking of us and find the grace to respond to His call.

Today is the memorial of St. Faustina Kowalska, and it seemed like the perfect time to share this beautiful prayer she wrote with all of you:

O My God,
When I look into the future, I am frightened,
But why plunge into the future?
Only the present moment is precious to me,
As the future may never enter my soul at all.

It is no longer in my power to change, correct or add to the past;
For neither sages nor prophets could do that.
And so what the past has embraced I must entrust to God.

O present moment, you belong to me, whole and entire.
I desire to use you as best I can.
And although I am weak and small,
You grant me the grace of Your omnipotence.

And so, trusting in Your mercy,
I walk through life like a little child,
Offering You each day this heart
Burning with love for Your greater Glory.

— From her Diary: Divine Mercy in My Soul, Notebook 1 (1)

3 Comments

Filed under Reflections

3 responses to “St. Faustina’s Prayer for the Present Moment

  1. Great prayer. Gives much needed perspective.

  2. Elmie A. Shahab

    The past is gone and St. Faustina was right that we can not change what happened yesterday. The future is unknown and we can not do anything on what we do not know. The present is the moment that we are working on. With the grace of God, we can do everything when we give our complete trust in Him for guidance and directions
    St. Faustina, intercede for us to love God with all our heart and to always say yes to Him for His glory, in Jesus’ name. Amen.

  3. Pingback: St. Faustina’s Prayer for the Present Moment « My Palace, My Refuge

I'd love to hear what you think!

